This content has been archived. It may no longer be relevant

2015 Annual Convention




2015 National Award Recipients

Lifetime Achievement Award 
Hugo Chaviano
Director, Illinois Department of Labor (Chicago, IL)

Latina Judge of the Year     
Hon. Christine Arguello
U.S. District Court Judge, District of Colorado (Denver, CO)

Latina Judge of the Year
Hon. Jenny Rivera
New York Court of Appeal (Albany, NY)

Latino Judge of the Year      
Hon. Leonardo Castro
Second Judicial District Judge, Ramsey County (Minneapolis, MN)

Latina Lawyer of the Year         
Anita Alvarez
State’s Attorney, Cook County State Attorney’s Office (Chicago, IL)

Latino Lawyer of the Year          
Wifredo Ferrer
United States Attorney, Southern District of Florida (Miami, FL)

Regional President of the Year
Neysa Alsina
Counsel, New York City Bar Association (New York, NY)

Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year  
Gabriel Fuentes
Partner, Jenner & Block (Chicago, IL)

Pro Bono Corporation of the Year        
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
(Bloomington, IL)

Affiliate Organization of the Year        
Hispanic Bar Association of DC
(Washington, DC)

Corporate Partner of the Year        
Liberty Mutual Group
(Boston, MA)

Law Student Organization of the Year        
Hispanic Law Student Association, University of Miami
(Miami, FL)

HNBA National Awards

Every year at our Annual Convention, the HNBA recognizes a talented group of lawyers and institutions that are making a difference in the legal profession. Below is a list of the awards that the HNBA will present.

The deadline for nominations has been extended to June 26, 2015.


  • Latina Attorney of the Year
  • Latino Attorney of the Year
  • Latina Judge of the Year
  • Latino Judge of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Corporate Partner of the Year
  • Regional President of the Year
  • HNBA Affiliate Organization of the Year
  • Law Student Organization of the Year
  • Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year
  • Pro Bono Corporation of the Year

Please click here to access the nomination form and view the criteria for each award category.



HNBA Latina Commission Award

Latina Commission

The deadline for nominations has been extended to August 1, 2015.

The HNBA Latina Commission is accepting nominations for its Annual Award in honor of Latina trailblazers who, licensed a minimum of 20 years, have achieved great distinction by opening up opportunities historically closed to Latina lawyers. The purpose of the Latina Commission Award is to honor the legacy left by the earliest Latina lawyers, first documented in 1996 at the HNBA’s Annual Convention in San Francisco. That year, the HNBA premiered Las Primeras, a visual history of 21 of the first Latinas licensed in the United States. With the creation of the Latina Commission in 2008, an annual award was established to continue the tradition of recognizing and honoring trailblazing Latina lawyers, affectionately known as Primeras, for their unique contributions to the legal profession.

Click here for award criteria and to submit your nomination.  

NOTE: The Latina Commission Award is for Lifetime Achievement and is not related to the HNBA Latina Lawyer of the Year Award. The HNBA Latina Commission Award will be presented during the HNBA’s 40th Annual Convention, being held in Boston, MA, September 2 – 5, 2015.